Warn before overwriting files on import
I'm doing a photo shoot today. I shot a batch of pictures, and imported them using DarkTable to a given project.
I then shot another batch of photos and imported them to DarkTable with the same project name.
Because I was using the $(SEQUENCE) as the unique portion of my file name, it wrote over the images from the first batch.
I'd argue that's a bug. It should have warned me that the files existed before overwriting them.
Luckily I had already made a backup copy, so I didn't lose my originals.
#5 Updated by Christian iuga over 5 years ago
I'm not sure understanding why we close this bug. i think we need to reopen it
We can still import picture & darktable don't verify if the file name is not already exist...
For me, darktable should warm the user OR (better) don't overwrite existing file (this test is done on the export module)
#6 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus over 5 years ago
- Affected Version changed from 1.0.5 to git development version
- % Done changed from 0 to 20
- System changed from Fedora/RHEL to all
- Status changed from Closed: invalid to Triaged
- Priority changed from High to Medium
- Target version deleted (
Candidate for next minor release)
Bugs that don't get a reaction to questions get closed after some months. I am reopening. Does it still happen?