Project

General

Profile

Feature #8758

Choose if overwrite or rename output file when export to disk

Added by Ivan Tarozzi over 5 years ago. Updated almost 4 years ago.

Status:
Fixed
Priority:
Medium
Assignee:
-
Category:
Lighttable
Target version:
Start date:
06/05/2012
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Affected Version:
System:
bitness:
64-bit
hardware architecture:
amd64/x86

Description

Starting from email from Steph Hubert to Darktable-user (1/06/2012):

Permits exported files to overwrite existing files, instead of create new one with counter suffix.

Because some user prefer actual behavior, this could be done with a checkbox in export module and/or globar options

History

#1 Updated by F M over 5 years ago

I think that a check box with it's default set in preferences would be an excellent solution.

#2 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 5 years ago

Ok, I'm working on.
So I could have soon a testing version to get some feedback

#3 Updated by Christian Tellefsen over 5 years ago

Another alternative is to introduce an "overwrite existing" checkbox into the GUI intended for #8496.

This would leave the current export module unchanged and streamlined. "Export to command" will need a bit more complex GUI anyway, and allowing overwrite is an option I expect this module would need.

http://chr.tellefsen.net/dt-export-command.png

#4 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 5 years ago

christte - wrote:

Another alternative is to introduce an "overwrite existing" checkbox into the GUI intended for #8496.

Really interesting. I didn't know this issue.
I see Simon comment about patch outdated. Are you still working on?

This would leave the current export module unchanged and streamlined. "Export to command" will need a bit more complex GUI anyway, and allowing overwrite is an option I expect this module would need.

This is a good option, but I don't understand if your export module will work to disk only or will be general. In last case, I think overwriting has sense in "export to disk" only.

I terminated my first release and will be available on github. But may be your idea is better :)

#5 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 5 years ago

Preliminary version can be found here:
https://github.com/itarozzi/darktable/tree/feature%238758

Annoying issue: checkbutton is not updated when exit options dialog.

Actually, I'm not able to find a way to update export module interface when dialog close (or when option is changed).
If someone of developer team can suggest me a way to solve, thanks!

#6 Updated by Steph Hubert over 5 years ago

Wow, im really excited about this... I need to learn how to install the dev builds now :)

#7 Updated by Simon Spannagel over 5 years ago

How to install the git development version:
http://www.darktable.org/install/#git

#8 Updated by Simon Spannagel over 5 years ago

By Jeremy:

just to sum up what we discussed on IRC

we all agree that the way we deal with existing files at export is not
optimal and doesn't help with all use-cases, we have been talking a
bit and don't have a definitive UI design right now, but here is what
we identified

  • It should be hard to accidentally overwrite existing file (in
    particular, checkbox is dangerous because it can be easily be set for
    one batch and forgotten)
  • a duplicate should not slow down export. i.e we shouldn't stop when
    we detect a duplicate
  • it should be possible to deal with duplicates all at once, but also
    on a per-image basis
  • for most people, duplicates are an symptom of a user error, but not
    for everybody, so both use case should be dealt with minimal overhead

some possible UI suggestions,

  • check for duplicates before export is started
  • offer a window that list all duplicates and allows dealing with them
    (offer to cancel the whole export or overwrite all) * renaming can either be an option in that window or cancel the
    export, change the export parameters, restart the export * maybe an option to overwrite on a per-image basis
  • do the export itself
alternative
  • do the export the way we currently do it
  • note all duplicates
  • display (after export) a window similar to the one described above
  • deal with duplicates by deleting old files and renaming

#9 Updated by Steph Hubert over 5 years ago

Simon Spannagel wrote:

some possible UI suggestions,

  • check for duplicates before export is started
  • offer a window that list all duplicates and allows dealing with them
    (offer to cancel the whole export or overwrite all)
  • renaming can either be an option in that window or cancel the
    export, change the export parameters, restart the export
  • maybe an option to overwrite on a per-image basis
  • do the export itself

I love this suggestion, but some users may get annoyed by the dialog box that displays every time there are duplicates.
I still think it would be nice to have a User Preference with 3 options...

Overwrite existing photos on export? Always, Never, Ask.
The default could be 'Never' so that behavior stays the same. However, the feature may not be easily discover-able.

If we're scared of accidental overwrites, we could eliminate the 'Always' option.

#10 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 5 years ago

Steph Hubert wrote:

Simon Spannagel wrote:

some possible UI suggestions,

  • check for duplicates before export is started
  • offer a window that list all duplicates and allows dealing with them
    (offer to cancel the whole export or overwrite all)
  • renaming can either be an option in that window or cancel the
    export, change the export parameters, restart the export
  • maybe an option to overwrite on a per-image basis
  • do the export itself

I love this suggestion, but some users may get annoyed by the dialog box that displays every time there are duplicates.

+1
I found suggestion very interesting, but I fear dialog could be annoying for those want overwrite every export.

If I'm not an occasional user of DT and I have my workflow clear, I could prefer run on desired behavior without recursive dialog

I still think it would be nice to have a User Preference with 3 options...

Overwrite existing photos on export? Always, Never, Ask.
The default could be 'Never' so that behavior stays the same. However, the feature may not be easily discover-able.

Great
This could solve all the needs, but: I don't like setting in Preferences dialog only.
Let say I have my workflow which provide file overwrite (so set in preferences)
Let say I want to override usual behavior for a batch only. It could be comfortable don't open preferences, but have a command on panel too.

If we're scared of accidental overwrites, we could eliminate the 'Always' option.

No please :) In my opinion, when I'm advised about overwrite export mode and I set "overwrite always" behavior without confirmation, this is sufficient.
Setting default to "Never" or "Ask" is safe enough... :)

#11 Updated by Steph Hubert over 5 years ago

Ivan Tarozzi wrote:

Overwrite existing photos on export? Always, Never, Ask.
The default could be 'Never' so that behavior stays the same. However, the feature may not be easily discover-able.

Great
This could solve all the needs, but: I don't like setting in Preferences dialog only.
Let say I have my workflow which provide file overwrite (so set in preferences)
Let say I want to override usual behavior for a batch only. It could be comfortable don't open preferences, but have a command on panel too.

Agreed! It would be nice to have this option on the panel AND in the user settings so you don't have to go into settings each time you want to change it. It also makes the feature more discoverable.

I like the idea of including the 'Always' option. Personally, I would probably set the 'Ask' option as my default, but I would often set the option to 'Always' in the panel.

#12 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Triaged
  • Target version set to Future
  • % Done changed from 0 to 20

#13 Updated by Milan Knizek about 5 years ago

How about extra setting to be able to define own suffix?

I use images named according to date&time, in case of burst shots there are few of them numbered $DATE-$TIME_##.

Having user definable suffix for "do not overwrite on export" would make further processing easier.

#14 Updated by Roman Lebedev almost 4 years ago

  • Status changed from Triaged to Fixed
  • % Done changed from 20 to 100

Checkbox "overwrite" has been added, so i believe this is fixed.

Also available in: Atom PDF