Project

General

Profile

Feature #8730

reset collecting filter rules on starting darktable

Added by Edgar Scholz over 7 years ago.

Status:
Closed: won't fix
Priority:
Low
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
-
Start date:
06/01/2012
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Affected Version:
System:
bitness:
64-bit
hardware architecture:
amd64/x86

Description

Hi

I filter my collection for e.g. keywords and close dt. After a restart, the filter-rule still exists and I only can see these filtered pictures. I think, darktable should start with all filter-rules resetted

Edgar

History

#1 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 7 years ago

I don't agree :)
In my personal opinion I found current behavior really useful.

If I start working on particular collection, I like darktable save current session and reopen. So I can continue my work later.

Useful also saving develop module status, because this help to use my personal workflow with only frequently used modules opened.

But this is only my opinion :)

#2 Updated by Edgar Scholz over 7 years ago

Hallo Ivan

I see this from another point of view ;) Let me describe what I mean:

I want dt to become the program for my whole photografic workflow. Half a year ago, I thought, that would not be realistic. But dt becomes better and better. And today, I´m gonna give it a try. Starting this fantastic program should use default settings, because I mostly finish work on the filtered pictures. And after a week or two I do not know anymore, what collection-filter-rules I have set.

Perhaps it would be a solution to create a flag somewhere (in preferences e.g.). And with this flag I can select to start darktable with default settings or to continue the last session.

That´s, what I think about it :)

Edgar

#3 Updated by Simon Spannagel over 7 years ago

  • Tracker changed from Bug to Feature

I'd call this a feature request since it's not a misbehaviour but intended.

#4 Updated by Edgar Scholz over 7 years ago

Agreed in changing from bug to feature request.

Edgar

#5 Updated by Richard Wonka over 7 years ago

Hey Edgar

How about using the reset button of the collections module?

That will allow you to interrupt your work, go back to DT in the same state you left it, and if you want to start a new project, you just reset the collections with one click and you have DT in the state that you want it if I read your request right.

#6 Updated by Edgar Scholz over 7 years ago

Hallo Richard

That´s what I´m doing now.

But, starting a program (darktable in this case) and first having to reset this program to its defaults, I guess, that´s not the right way. If I start dt, I would expect dt to start with defaults (predefinied defaults or defaults, I have told to be defaults). Starting with the settings of the last session, that would be a feature for me.

Only my personal opinion :)

Edgar

#7 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus about 7 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed: won't fix

Also available in: Atom PDF

Go to top