Project

General

Profile

Bug #8691

Ambiguous effect of double-click in darktable: Cropping vs. mode-switching

Added by Richard Wonka almost 8 years ago. Updated almost 8 years ago.

Status:
Fixed
Priority:
Low
Assignee:
-
Category:
Darkroom
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Affected Version:
1.0.4
System:
unknown
bitness:
64-bit
hardware architecture:
amd64/x86

Description

Double-clicking an image is mostly used to switch between DR- and LT-mode, but when cropping, it finalises the crop.

When I want to correct the crop-settings just after I have applied them, getting the crop-controls back is a bit complicated (disabling, then re-enabling the plugin does the trick). Instinctively, I have now more than once double-clicked the image after applying a crop, trying to get the crop-controls back.

This of course leaves Darkroom mode now, switches to Lighttable-mode and interrupts my workflow. - Can get a bit frustrating.

Yes, I know, I could just learn to deal with it, but the ambiguity could be avoided completely.

Proposed solutions:

1) use [return] (or any other key) instead of double click to apply cropping. Added advantage: The same key could be used to the get cropping controls back for adjustments

2) keep cropping controls visible as long as the crop/rotate plugin is expanded. This seems to make sense to me as those controls are also part of the plugin's interface. - for a full-screen preview of the effect use [z], consistently with Lighttable.

History

#1 Updated by Simon Spannagel over 7 years ago

  • Affected Version set to 1.0.4
  • % Done changed from 0 to 20
  • Target version changed from --- to Candidate for next patch release
  • Status changed from New to Triaged
  • Category set to Darkroom

Confirmed.
This should be changed. Even resetting the module does not give me back control over the crop borders.

#2 Updated by Pascal de Bruijn over 7 years ago

Actually double-click to confirm crop is also used other applications like The GIMP, so this is where that came from.

Adjusting an existing crop can easily be done by just expanding the crop&rotate plugin, as that will re-expose the crop controls (and displays the full image again), so no need to enable/disable the plugin.

I do agree it's confusing that double-clicking when crop isn't activated does switch to lighttable mode. Different behavior for the same action (in the same mode) is generally bad thing.

So to resolve this issue, we'd only have to remove the double-click to apply function and then it would be consistent again. (so collapse/expand is the only way to confirm/readjust a crop).

OR

We need to make sure double-clicking to confirm also collapses the crop&rotate plugin, and disable double-click to switch to lighttable mode.

#3 Updated by Richard Wonka over 7 years ago

Pascal de Bruijn wrote:

... We need to make sure double-clicking to confirm also collapses the crop&rotate plugin, and disable double-click to switch to lighttable mode.

I like that better. Double-could even default to expanding/collapsing the active module and thus showing/hiding any in-image controls.

#4 Updated by Ivan Tarozzi over 7 years ago

I like to maintain double-click to switch darkroom/lighttable, because users know it and because a similar behavior is used also to switch image using filmroll on the bottom; but I adapt myself to the will of the majority :D

Please, only a note: if you will use double-click to confirm, please don't execute expanding/collapsing for the current module!!!
I like to maintain may panel open/closed as I prefer (remember issue about auto-collapsing if plugin switch on/off ?)

The panel expanding is different from focus. The actual behavior of crop&rotate plugin could be confusing: to confirm or edit again the plugin, is not necessary close and reopen the panel, but simply leave or put focus on the panel (light grey). Of course, closing and opening the panel has effect on focus.

I mean, to confirm the plugin effect, simply leave focus from panel (clicking on other plugin).

This is because I dislike double-click and prefer a key (enter?) or a new loss-focus feature - for example, clicking anywhere outside the panel (not in the image) could leave focus from current panel and confirm.

#5 Updated by Jérémy Rosen over 7 years ago

I am a bit confused

in master you don't need to confirm crop anymore, you just adjust the crop markers than swith to another plugin...

do you dislike that UI or are you sugesting a change only for the 1.0.4 branch ?

if it's 1.0.x only, I don't think it's a good idea to change the way the UI works between minor releases unless it's to solve a major annoyance

#6 Updated by Simon Spannagel about 7 years ago

  • System set to unknown
  • % Done changed from 20 to 100
  • Status changed from Triaged to Fixed

This is fixed in current stable darktable 1.1

Also available in: Atom PDF

Go to top