Project

General

Profile

Bug #11919

Light table tab: deleting to thrash several selected pictures implies to click twice per picture, even when box "confirm before removal" is unchecked - Windows 10 version -

Added by Bob Tail 12 days ago. Updated 12 days ago.

Status:
Triaged
Priority:
Low
Assignee:
-
Category:
Lighttable
Target version:
-
Start date:
01/10/2018
Due date:
% Done:

20%

Affected Version:
2.4.0
System:
Windows
bitness:
64-bit
hardware architecture:
amd64/x86

Description

Hi
I begin my learning phase of the light table, especially the phase of sorting pictures:

Once imported, I mark rejected pictures
I select all rejected photos
I click on "trash" to remove these pictures from my photos directory.
If I leave the delete confirmation checked in the preferences, I have a 1st window "Are you sure you want to move the x selected photos to the trash"
I click yes; then I have 2 requests for removal confirmation per selected photo: one for each picture itself; another for its xmp file.

If I uncheck the deletion confirmation in the preferences, I do not have the first confirmation window, the one that concerns all the rejected photos, but I still have 2 requests for confirmation by photo rejected ...

In both cases, this 2nd series of confirmations is a too heavy process

1st window.JPG (192 KB) Bob Tail, 01/10/2018 07:36 PM

2nd window.JPG (191 KB) Bob Tail, 01/10/2018 07:36 PM

3rd window.JPG (188 KB) Bob Tail, 01/10/2018 07:36 PM

4th window.JPG (185 KB) Bob Tail, 01/10/2018 07:36 PM

5th window.JPG (220 KB) Bob Tail, 01/10/2018 07:36 PM

History

#1 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus 12 days ago

  • Status changed from New to Incomplete
  • % Done changed from 0 to 20

Please take a screenshot of both dialogs and upload it here. I don't think I ever saw the second one.

#2 Updated by Bob Tail 12 days ago

example:
for deleting 2 pictures, htere are 5 confirmation windows

#4 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus 12 days ago

  • Status changed from Incomplete to Triaged

Thanks. Those are shown by Windows itself and not darktable. Someone should investigate if it's possible to tell glib or Windows to stop doing that. I am not too confident though ...

#5 Updated by Tobias Ellinghaus 12 days ago

Looking at the glib code, it seems that they would have to add FOF_NOCONFIRMATION to the flags when calling SHFileOperationW. (https://git.gnome.org/browse/glib/tree/gio/glocalfile.c#n2290)

Also available in: Atom PDF