confusing message when deleting a duplicate
when duplicating an image, and then invoking, from "selected images" the delete button,
the popup says "are you really sure you want to physically delete the image from disk?"
this is inaccurate as, since it's a duplicate, it will do nothing more than delete it from the database and leave the original file on disk
(i verified that the file is still there)
for duplicates, the message should be more clear, or maybe no confirmation at all because this operation is can't do much harm. (except maybe when you did a bunch of creative work on it, so maybe only in that case ask for confirmation)
#1 Updated by Ulrich Pegelow over 5 years ago
- Status changed from New to Closed: won't fix
Well, the point here is that in any case of pressing "delete" there is something that gets physically deleted. If you have several duplicates then at least the selected edit (= xmp file) gets deleted and is lost. If this edit did cost you 1 hour of valuable work, it's a significant loss. I think this certainly deserves a warning.
Remains the question how to interprete the word "image" in the warning phrase. To me an image is not only the physical raw file but also any edit I do to it.